How could you?…

As some of you all may be aware, Songbird will no longer be supporting Linux. They have decided that they can no longer focus energy on us. Here is a snippet from their blog post…

Songbird Singing A New Tune

After careful consideration, we’ve come to the painful conclusion that we should discontinue support for the Linux version of Songbird. Some of you may wonder how a company with deep roots in Open Source could drop Linux and we want you to know it isn’t without heartache.
We have a small engineering team here at Songbird, and, more than ever, must stay very focused on a narrow set of priorities. Trying to deliver a raft of new features around all media types, and across a growing list of devices, we had to make some tough choices.

 

Well, you know what I say to that? You don’t want to support me; I will no longer support you.

My understanding is that they will continue to have a “version” that is available to Linux users; however, it will never receive feature additions. So what’s the use of it?

I was so happy with it for a long time. The path that they were on was looking so bright. But no longer…

I am currently on the market for a new music player. For the time being I will be using Rhythmbox. I have also heard that Banshee is a nice player. If anyone has ideas for what I should use, please let me know.

I do like having a playlist. Meaning players like mplayer and the ilk are out of the question.

2 responses to this post.

  1. This is sad, really. However, it isn’t as bleak as it sounds…

    The staff did say that the Linux source and downloads would remain, and that patches would be accepted; they also said that this was not a desired outcome, and would like to continue if only they were able.

    This is what happens when there aren’t enough people to support development.

    Again, too bad really; I kind of liked it (though I tend to stick with native apps like Amarok in KDE and Rhythmbox in GNOME). I hope it comes back to life under Linux.

    Reply

    • Yes, you’re right about this. However, I really don’t like that they did not truly give a reason. I just don’t like the path they are taking.

      I really was hoping that they would find a way to streamline the program and remove the bloat the slowed it down. It felt like they were on that track, but now that has gone completely out the window. My hope now is that a group of Songbird users will fork the program and make it what it could/should have been.

      For now I’m going to run Rhythmbox. It’s GNOME integration is really nice and it’s really improved since the last time I used it. Not to mention It will soon be heavily integrated with the soon-to-be Ubuntu One Music Store.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

