How To | Thunderbird/Android Calendar Sync

Have you been wondering the best way to sync your Android calendar with your Thunderbird calendar (via Lightning). Well, you’ve come to the right place!

I personally know that I’ve been looking for this tool. Here’s how I like to sync my Android calendar with my Thunderbird…

Step 1: Download Provider for Google Calendar

Step 2: Open Thunderbird and go to the add-ons menu. (Tools > Add-ons)

Step 3: Click Install and then locate the newly downloaded add-on, after Thunderbird has restarted, go to your calendar

Step 4: On the left side, where your calendars are listed, right-click and select “New Calendar,” click “Network Calendar” and then “Google Calendar.” Stop here and proceed to Firefox

Step 5: Open your calendar that is associated with your Android phone and in the upper right corner click Settings > Calendar Settings

Step 6: Click the “Calendars” tab and then click on the email address associated with your Android phone

Step 7: Near the bottom you will see “Private Address,” click on XML and copy the URL shown on the screen and go back to Thunderbird where you stopped on Step 6

Step 8: Paste the URL of your “Private Calendar” here and click Next

Your Android calendar should now appear in your Thunderbird calendar. They will sync in both directions making it nice and easy to add/remove/edit your events.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anatoly on September 28, 2010 at 11:07 am

    Only works half-way for me: Provider for Google Calendar can read my calendar, but gets errors when trying to write, so I still have to make all changes on the Google Calendar site or on my Android phone.

    Reply

    • What version of Thunderbird are you using? I did this setup using: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US; rv:1.9.2.11pre) Gecko/20100927 Lightning/1.0b2 Shredder/3.1.5pre

      Can you provide the actual error message that you are seeing when you attempt to add an entry? This will help me to be able to troubleshoot the problem.

      Reply

    • Maybe problem with the Permission Settings, try the “Make changes AND manage sharing” option ..

      Reply

  2. Posted by Jim on February 15, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    OK so that works when I add a calendar entry on my phone it shows up in my Thunderbird calendar. However when I add something in Thunderbird it doesn’t show up on my phone. It also doesn’t show up in my Google calendar. Is there another step I need to preform to make sure that Thunderbird is syncing with Google?

    Reply

    • Sorry for such a late reply, but are you still having this issue? I’m actually no longer using Thunderbird (going directly to Gmail now), but I’m willing to help if you’re still having problems. :-)

      Reply

  3. This doesn’t work. It allows Thunderbird to read the google calendar but entries made in Thunderbird (Lightning) will not up date to Google calendar, and therefore there is no way to update those to the Andriod. There is no error message. There has to be an answer but I have not found anything on any of the forums.

    Reply

    • Sorry for such a late reply, are you still having this issue? If you are, I can look for a solution, but letting you know that I no longer use Thunderbird.

      Reply

  4. Posted by Jenni Mylly on August 16, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    AWESOME!

    Reply

  5. Posted by ganimoth@gmail.com on October 17, 2011 at 9:57 am

    Thank you very much, it works flawlessly! :)

    Reply

  6. Posted by PG on August 31, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    cant get this to work, An error was encountered preparing the calendar located at http://…….insert my feed details here………./basics for use. It will not be available. Error code 0x80570015
    Please let me know what I have done wrong.
    Cheers
    PG

    Reply

  7. how can this be done with out sharing calendar with NSA through Google. Is there an Android App that operates calendars that sync ONLY with Thunderbird Lightning and keep calendar REALLY private? This is how early PDAs worked like palm pilot.

    Reply

  8. Posted by dvdgremlin on April 25, 2014 at 5:54 pm

    this is not how to sync android calendar with Thunderbird. This is how to sync Google calendar with Thunderbird. It’s not the same thing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

